Retail Insider ‘Transforming Retail’ Awards 2019

The Awards

Retail Insider is proud to launch its third ‘Transforming Retail’ Awards for 2019 after the success of last year. The aim of the awards is to showcase the best examples of innovation in retail technology across the sector.

We would like to invite relevant organisations to apply to be shortlisted in the relevant categories.

If you wish to nominate for an award all you need to do is choose from the categories below, then submit written evidence to support the application in no more than 500 words using the judging criteria listed below.

Companies are  allowed to enter two categories but the entries must be different. There is no cost attached to entering.

To receive an application form immediately please contact:

Deadline for entry is 28 June 2019. Shortlisted entries will be notified in early August 2019.


The Categories

There are six categories to enter:

1. Best In-store Experience of the Year (sponsored by PCMS Group)

Judges will be looking for a company that has delivered a memorable experience to its customers when they have visited its stores. This could be through the clever use of technology alongside traditional customer service techniques. It is the overall experience that must be exemplary, with technology simply being an enhancer.]

2. Most Promising Newcomer (sponsored by Bold360)

Judges will be looking for a company that has made an impact in its youth but is not a disruptor that will flame-out. There must be some longevity to its business model. The company could be a retailer that is quickly making its mark or a technology provider that is delivering a particularly impressive solution to its retail clients.

3. Overall Technology Innovation of the Year (sponsored by Webloyalty)

Judges will be looking for a technology that has stood out from the pack in terms of it being particularly revolutionary or disruptive. Equally, it could be a relatively straightforward solution but one that has made the life of retailers easier. Providing evidence of it helping deliver a return on investment for retailers will clearly be advantageous.

4. Best Connected Experience of the Year (sponsored by SAP)

Judges will be looking for a company that has been able to deliver a seamless experience across the various channels in which it operates. Evidence of a consistent customer experience and intelligent management of inventory across the channels will be good indicators of success.  Retailers that operate predominantly online but have some physical presence will also be welcome to enter this category.

5. Delivery Innovation of the Year (sponsored by Womble Bond Dickinson)

Judges will be looking for a technology that has helped retailers deal with one of the most troublesome aspects of their businesses: effective and cost-efficient delivery. Evidence should be provided that highlights specifically how the solution has directly benefited retailers in their delivery of goods to consumers.

6. Most Intelligent Use of Data (sponsored by Software AG)

Judges will be looking for a solution that is an outstanding example of how data is being cleverly used within retail organisations. This could be through the delivery of personalisation that has improved the customer experience or it could be the use of data in the back-end that has markedly helped the operational efficiency of the retailers’ business

Plus one final award:

7. Judges Special Award (sponsored by Clipper)

Judges will be proposing, and then considering, a solution, business, or person that receives this special award for what is regarded as a major noteworthy contribution to the industry over the course of the year.

The Judging Process

Entry applications will be judged by an independent panel of experts chosen by Glynn Davis, editor of Retail Insider.  The judges comprise: Paul Clarke, CTO, Ocado; Paul Wilkinson, head of product for space, range and display, Tesco; Martin Newman, founder, Customer First Group; Lawrence Shaw, CEO, Sitemorse; Simon Calver, head of venture investments, BGF Ventures; Edwina Dunn, CEO, Starcount; Sarah McVittie, co-founder, Dressipi, Clodagh Moriarty, group chief digital officer, Sainsbury’s; Craig Smith, digital commerce director, Ted Baker.

The Deadlines

Deadline for entries is 28 June 2019.

Awards ceremony

The announcement of winning entries will be at an evening event to be held on 09 October 2019 at Sourced Market in Marylebone, London to which all shortlisted entrants and sponsors will be invited along with other senior executives in the retail industry. The evening will also include a tutored beer tasting and plenty of networking opportunities.